site search

classic fantasy & science fiction   Robots in Time

Home Page >> Series >> Asimovs Robots >>

 Robots in Time

created by William F. Wu

A subsidiary or ancillary series to the Asimov's Robots series.


Isaac Asimov's Robots in Time is a series of six science fiction novels featuring Isaac Asimov's Three Laws of Robotics. Written by American author William F. Wu as novels for young adults, they were the first series authorized to use Asimov's fictional universe after his death in 1992.

Set on Earth, it tells the story of the Governors, a series of state-of-the-art administrative robots. Each Governor is physically composed of six smaller units and is responsible for single-handedly directing the operations of a human-inhabited city. When the Governor robots begin to fail mysteriously, Mojave Center (MC) Governor acts to protect his own existence by separating into his components and traveling into the remote past to escape disassembly.

MC Governor is not aware, however, that the time travel method used alters its molecular structure, with the result that his components explode via nuclear blasts when they reach the moment in which they were originally altered. A team composed of three humans and one robot embarks on a series of missions to the past to retrieve the robots before they can alter history. Opposing their efforts are a renegade roboticist and his robot companion, who seek to track down the Governors in order to solve the problem of their mysterious failure before their team can.

Titles in series

Main series

  1. Predator  (1993)
  2. Marauder  (1993)
  3. Warrior  (1993)
  4. Dictator  (1994)
  5. Emperor  (1994)
  6. Invader  (1994)

Cover Images