Titles The Wind's Twelve Quarters by Ursula K Le Guin | Classic-SF
site search

classic fantasy & science fiction   The Wind's Twelve Quarters

Home Page >> Titles >> >>

book cover

Written by Ursula K. Le Guin

Published in 1975 by Harper & Row

A collection

Cover Notes

Le Guin describes the collection as a retrospective. It includes many stories which had been published previously or expanded into novels. Others take place in locations that feature in her full-length novels. Semley's Necklace became the prologue to Rocannon's World. The Word of Unbinding and The Rule of Names both take place in Earthsea. Winter's King takes place on Gethen, the same planet which is the stage of The Left Hand of Darkness. The Day Before the Revolution is a companion to The Dispossessed.


This title contains the following stories:

  1. Foreword (The Wind's Twelve Quarters) (essay)
  1. Semley's Necklace  (1964) - (Hainish) (short story)
  1. April in Paris  (1962) (short story)
  1. The Masters  (1963) (short story)
  1. Darkness Box  (1963) (short story)
  1. The Word of Unbinding  (1964) - (Earthsea) (short story)
  1. The Rule of Names  (1964) - (Earthsea) (short story)
  1. Winter's King  (1969) - (Hainish) (novelette)
  1. The Good Trip  (1970) (short story)
  1. Nine Lives  (1969) (novelette)
  1. Things  (1970) (short story)
  1. A Trip to the Head  (1970) (short story)
  1. Vaster Than Empires and More Slow  (1971) - (Hainish) (novelette)
  1. The Stars below  (1974) (short story)
  1. The Field of Vision  (1973) (short story)
  1. The Direction of the Road  (1973) (short story)
  1. The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas  (1973) (short story)
  1. The Day Before the Revolution  (1974) - (Hainish) (short story)

Publication History

Publication history in print: