Titles The Book of Wonder by Lord Dunsany | Classic-SF
site search

classic fantasy & science fiction   The Book of Wonder

Home Page >> Titles >> >>

book cover

Written by Lord Dunsany

Published in 1912 by William Heinemann

A collection

Cover Notes

The Book of Wonder is the seventh book and fifth original short story collection of Irish fantasy writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, H. P. Lovecraft, Ursula K. Le Guin and others. It was first published in hardcover by William Heinemann in November, 1912, and has been reprinted a number of times since. A 1918 edition from the Modern Library was actually a combined edition with Time and the Gods.

The book collects fourteen fantasy short stories by the author.

Lord Dunsany employed the remarkable talents of Sidney Sime to illustrate his fantasy short story collections, but The Book of Wonder is unique in that Sydney Sime drew the illustrations first, and Lord Dunsany wrote the tales around them.


This title contains the following stories:

  1. Preface (essay)
  1. The Bride of the Man-Horse (short story)
  1. The Distressing tale of Thangobrind the Jeweller, and of the Doom that Befel Him (short story)
  1. The House of the Sphinx (short story)
  1. The Probable Adventure of the Three Literary Men (short story)
  1. The Injudicious Prayers of Pombo the Idolator (short story)
  1. The Loot of Bombasharna (short story)
  1. Miss Cubbidge and the Dragon of Romance (short story)
  1. The Quest of the Queen's Tears (short story)
  1. The Hoard of the Gibbelins (short story)
  1. How Nuth Would Have Practised his Art Upon the Gnoles (short story)
  1. How One Came, as Was Foretold, to the City of Never (short story)
  1. The Coronation Of Mr. Thomas Shap (short story)
  1. Chu-Bu and Sheemish (short story)
  1. The Wonderful Window (short story)
  1. Epilogue (essay)

Publication History

Publication history in print: