site search

classic fantasy & science fiction   Wheel of Time

Home Page >> Series >> >>

 Wheel of Time

created by James Oliver Rigney Jr.
(under the name of Robert Jordan)


The Wheel of Time is a series of epic fantasy novels written by American author James Oliver Rigney, Jr., under the pen name Robert Jordan. Originally planned as a six-book series, it now consists of thirteen published novels, with one more still to be released. There is also a prequel novel and a companion book available. Rigney began writing the first volume, The Eye of the World, in 1984 and it was published in January 1990.

The author died in 2007 while working on what was planned to be the final volume in the series, although he had prepared extensive notes so another author could complete the book according to his wishes. Fellow fantasy author and long-time Wheel of Time fan Brandon Sanderson was brought in to complete the final book, but during the writing process it was decided that book would be far too large to be published in one volume, and would instead be published as three volumes as large as, or larger than, any previous book in the series. The first volume was published in 2009 under the title The Gathering Storm. The final two books are called Towers of Midnight (released November 2, 2010) and A Memory of Light (slated for a March 2012 release).

The series draws on elements of both European and Asian mythology, most notably the cyclical nature of time found in Hinduism and Buddhism and the concepts of balance, duality, and a respect for nature found in Daoism. It was also partly inspired by Leo Tolstoy's War and Peace.

Titles in series

Main series

Other Stories