site search

classic fantasy & science fiction   The Hunger Games

Home Page >> Series >> >>

The Hunger Games

created by Suzanne Collins


A 'young adult', 'science fiction' adventure trilogy, which, set in the future, takes place in the totalitarian country Panem. As punishment for a past rebellion against the Capitol wherein twelve of the districts were defeated and the thirteenth supposedly destroyed, one boy and one girl from each of the twelve districts, between the ages of twelve and eighteen, are selected by lottery to participate in the "Hunger Games" on an annual basis. The Games are a televised event with the participants, called "tributes", being forced to fight to the death in a dangerous public arena. The winning tribute and his/her home district is then rewarded with food, and supplies and riches. The purpose of the Hunger Games is to provide entertainment for the Capitol and to serve as a reminder to the Districts of the Capitol's power and lack of remorse.

Titles in series

Main series