site search

classic fantasy & science fiction   Lord Darcy

Home Page >> Series >> >>

 Lord Darcy

created by Randall Garrett


The series is set in an alternate world where a joint Anglo-French empire still led by a Plantagenet dynasty has survived into the twentieth century and where magic works and has been scientifically codified.

The Darcy books are rich in jokes, puns, and references (particularly to works of detective and spy fiction: Lord Darcy is himself partially modelled on Sherlock Holmes).

Titles in series

Main series

  1. Murder and Magic  (1979) [collection]
  2. Too Many Magicians  (1967)
  3. Lord Darcy Investigates  (1981) [collection]

Other Stories

short story

Cover Images

Murder and Magic
Too Many Magicians
Lord Darcy Investigates
Lord Darcy