site search

classic fantasy & science fiction   Earthsea

Home Page >> Series >> >>


created by Ursula K. Le Guin


Earthsea is a fictional realm originally created by Ursula K. Le Guin for her short story "The Word of Unbinding", published in 1964. Earthsea became the setting for a further six books, beginning with A Wizard of Earthsea, first published in 1968, and continuing with The Tombs of Atuan, The Farthest Shore, Tehanu, Tales from Earthsea and The Other Wind. All are set in the world of Earthsea, as are (to date) seven short stories by Le Guin, two of which are not collected in any of these books.

Titles in series

Main series

  1. The Word of Unbinding  (1964) [short story]
  2. The Finder  (2001) [novella]
  3. Darkrose and Diamond  (1999) [novelette]
  4. The Rule of Names  (1964) [short story]
  5. The Bones of the Earth  (2001) [short story]
  6. A Wizard of Earthsea  (1968)
  7. The Tombs of Atruan  (1971)
  8. On the High Marsh  (2001) [novelette]
  9. The Farthest Shore  (1972)
  10. Tehanu  (1990)
  11. Dragonfly  (1997) [novella]
  12. The Other Wind  (2001)

Other Stories


Cover Images

Wizard of Earthsea
Tombs of Atruan
Farthest Shore
Other Wind
Earthsea Quartet
Tales from Earthsea
Tales from Earthsea & The Other Wind
Earthsea Revisioned