site search

classic fantasy & science fiction   Apprentice Adept

Home Page >> Series >> >>

 Apprentice Adept

created by Piers Anthony


Apprentice Adept is a seven-book fantasy and science fiction novel series by Piers Anthony. The series takes place on Phaze and Proton, two worlds occupying the same space in two different dimensional planes. Phaze is a lush planet of magic, where Proton is a barren mining planet of science. As the series opens, each person born on Phaze and Proton has an alternate self living on the other world. But if a person on either world lacks a duplicate (for instance if a Proton citizen emigrated there from another planet, or a counterpart from the opposite frame died), he can cross to the other through an energy "curtain" that circumscribes each frame.

The first three books in the series follow Proton serf Stile as he enters Phaze and becomes an important political force there. The next three (often called the second trilogy) concern the adventures of Mach (Citizen Blue's son), Bane (Stile's son), and Bane's companions. Finally, volume 7, Phaze Doubt follows Bane's and Mach's nine-year-old children, Flach and Nepe, among others.

Titles in series

Main series

  1. Split Infinity  (1980)
  2. Blue Adept  (1981)
  3. Juxtaposition  (1982)
  4. Out of Phaze  (1987)
  5. Robot Adept  (1988)
  6. Unicorn Point  (1989)
  7. Phaze Doubt  (1990)

Cover Images

Split Infinity
Blue Adept
Out of Phaze
Robot Adept
Unicorn Point
Phaze Doubt