site search

classic fantasy & science fiction   

Home Page >> Publishers >> >>

John Murray

(1768 - present day)

Contact Details

John Murray was a British publishing house, renowned for the roster of authors it has published in its history, including Jane Austen, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Lord Byron, Charles Lyell, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Herman Melville, and Charles Darwin. The business was founded in London in 1768 by John Murray I (17451793), an Edinburgh-born Royal Marines officer, who built up a list of authors including Isaac D'Israeli and published the English Review.

John Murray is no longer an independent business, but the name survives as a subdivision of publisher Hodder Headline.

About John Murray:

Books published by John Murray in the database